Summer Reading Events 2022

Sidewalk Chalk Kickoff Week

Monday, June 6 – Saturday, June 11
Stop by the library during the first week of summer reading and take home a complimentary pack of sidewalk chalk! Draw on our sidewalk to celebrate reading, then head home to decorate your own sidewalk! While supplies last. All ages.


Reptile and Amphibian Discovery Zoo

Tuesday, June 14, 10:30 AM, Library Foot Room

Learn all about a selection of animals from the RAD Zoo in Owatonna, followed by an opportunity for an up-close look! All ages.


Chione Quintet presents: Shoua and the Northern Lights Dragon

Thursday, June 16, 2:00 PM, Library Foot Room

Featuring Shoua and the Northern Lights Dragon written by Ka Vang, join us to learn about different musical instruments, learn a little ASL, and enjoy musical storytelling with a woodwind quintet! All ages. This project was funded with money from Minnesota’s Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund.


Lawn Game Day

Due to extreme heat, rescheduled to Tuesday, June 28, 9:30 AM, Central Park

Giant UNO, ring toss, yard dice, inflatable bowling, and more! Join us to play a selection of outdoor games in the park. All ages. Inclement weather date Tuesday, June 28.


Nothando Zulu, Master Storyteller

Wednesday, June 29, 10:30 AM, Library Foot Room

Be captivated by Nothando Zulu, a dynamic Minneapolis storyteller who draws from her own rich heritage to tell stories from the oral storytelling tradition. All ages.


Ojibwe Shoulder Bag Making with ArtReach

4 sessions to choose from: Monday, July 11, Tuesday, July 12, Monday, July 18, or Tuesday, July 19, 10:00 AM, Foot Room

Join us to create your own Ojibwe Shoulder Bag from the Minnesota Historical Society! For students entering grades 3-7. Registration required, limit of 15 in each session. Registration available beginning Monday, May 16


The Magic of Isaiah

Tuesday, July 26, 10:30 AM, Library Foot Room

Summer reading favorite magician Isaiah Foster returns with his annual magic show – Dive into Reading! All ages

Summer Reading Finale: Salsa del Soul Concert

Tuesday, August 2, 10:30 AM, Central Park Bandshell
Get ready to dance with this super fun Twin Cities-based music group, whose 5-piece orchestra will perform many different styles of Latin American dance music from the Spanish-speaking parts of the Caribbean! All ages. This project was funded in part with money from Minnesota’s Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund.